Background on the Patriot Attitude Toward the Monarchy
From Loyal Subjects to Traitorous Rebels - A Royal Proclamation (icons below title link to historical content pertaining to Charters of Freedom, development and impact.)
Road to Revolution: Patriotism or Treason - Docs Teach: The National Archives Experience
Enlightenment in the Classroom - from Ken Burns "Thomas Jefferson"
To Sign or Not to Sign - Docs Teach: The National Archives Experience
A Letter From George Washington - Smithsonian's Albert H. Small Documents Gallery
Images From the American Revolution - contains documents, in addition to teaching activities
ConSource - Constitutional Source Project Document Collection
Mapping History - American Modules
The American Revolution and Its Era - Geography and Map Division - Library of Congress
Rare Map Collection: Hargrett Library Map Collection - please make note of usage of materials. If your use meets the following requirements, you do not need to seek permission.
Other uses of materials does require permission from the collection owners, who can be contacted at permission to publish.
The following links will provide you and your students comprehensive background information on the American Revolution.
One of the most famous images derived from the Revolutionary War, it and more information can be found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Revolutionary_War, remember Wikipedia is a starting point, not the end.
The Library of Congress has an extensive collection, however the headings list will also provide you with numerous possible topics. You can narrow your choices to specified topics by usings the headings list.
Library of Congress Headings List - Search United States -- History -- Revolution -- 1775 -1783
Using the same search at the Marshfield Public Library will yield - Marshfield Public Library Headings List
LIBERTY! - The American Revolution -pbs.org
Awesome Stories - The Story Place of the Web - The American Revolution
Revolutionary War - historycentral.com
Out of Many: A History of the American People - Chapter 6 From Empire to Independence 1750 -1776
Out of Many: A History of the American People - Chapter 7 The Creation of the United States 1776 - 1786
The American Revolution: A Document History - Avalon Project from Yale University
Teaching American History - The Constitutional Convention - interactive website with numerous resources
The Constitution at Work - Docs Teach: The National Archive Experience
Constitution Day Workshop - The National Archives: archives.gov
Constitutional Convention Decision-making Activity
Constitution Day - from Gale Schools
The United States Constitution Savenger Hunt
James Madison: Madison Was There - Lesson One of the Curriculum Unit, James Madison: From Father of the Constitution to President
Before and Beyond the Constitution: What should a President Do?
The National Constitution Center - offers a variety of approaches to teaching the concepts behind the Constitution
The personalities of the American Revolution are extensive. Here are several possiblities for classroom use.
From Revolution to Reconstruction: Biographies
Biographies of the American Revolution - from historycentral.com
The American Revolution - Important People
America's Founding Fathers - Delegates to the Constitutional Convention (icons below title link to historical content pertaining to Charters of Freedom, development and impact.)
ColonialHall.com - Biographies of American's Founding Fathers - contains 111 biographies
Ben Franklin: An Extraordinary Life, an Electric Mind from pbs.org
Biographies from Revolution to Reconstruction
Biographies of the American Revolution from the History Channel
George Washington:The Presidents from American Experience
Rediscovering George Washington - from pbs.org
George Washington: American Memory - from the Library of Congress
Thomas Jefferson: The Presidents from American Experience
Thomas Jefferson - A Ken Burns Film
Thomas Jefferson: American Memory - from the Library of Congress