Searching the Internet can be fun, but it can also pose frustration when a search attempt results in thousands of...or even worse, no results! Typically, when conducting a search, keywords or phrases are entered into a search engine such as Google, Yahoo, Bing, etc. The search engine then uses that information to search its databases for the requested information.
Steps to Researching:
1. Select the topic you are going to research.
2. Develop the research questions. What do you want to know about the topic?
3. "Parse" the question. Determine keywords that are pertinent to your question. List these terms, and add synonyms. These are words you will use to conduct your searches. Carrot2 can help cluster your terms in thematic units and help you in your search.
4. Find and gather background information on your topic. It provides a starting point. Oftentimes, encyclopedias are good starting points because they do provide background information that has been researched and evaluated for accuracy. Information in encyclopedias is typically provided by professionals or specialists in the field specific to the topic. Wikipedia can also offer background information, as can various encyclopedias. When using Wikipedia, be aware that its contents can be added and edited by anyone!
5. Refine the topic, if necessary. If the topic is too broad, you may have difficulty finding the answers you are seeking. Some ways of refining the topic include, but are not limited to, focusing on one geographic location, a specific time period (i.e., 1990-2010), a specific group of people (i.e. Native Americans with Master's Degrees living in the western part of the United States), a specific subject area (i.e. Visual Arts), etc.
6. Start searching! In order to narrow the search results, a Boolean search can be conducted. This is a search that includes quotations, AND, OR, NOT, etc. to narrow the results.
Regardless of the topic of research, the following information will prove advantageous as you search.
EBSCO Host is a comprehensive database, including ERIC, and therefore provides a wealth of information. Use Boolean search terms such as "arts education", "enrichment", "afterschool", etc. to conduct a search of available articles, journals, books, etc. related to Arts education.
![[ BadgerLink logo ]](http://www.badgerlink.net/images/bl_logo3.gif){kind=logo}
Badgerlink is "Wisconsin's Connection to the World of Information". It is sponsored and maintained by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction--Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning.
Infomine Infomine is a Scholarly Internet Resource Collection. The link will take you to the initial search page. Once you enter the topic of choice, you may choose the type of results to generate.
List of Academic Databases and Search Engines From Wikipedia, a collection of databases useful in education includes journals, articles, archives, repositories, etc.
Research Beyond Google: 119 Authoritative, Invisible, and Comprehensive Resources This is a database of databases! Categorized according to subject, the database provides numerous options for the researcher.
A customized search engine has been set up to help you find information specific to this libguide. Type in a keyword such as "enrichment", "afterschool", "creativity", "standards", etc. to generate resources specific to Arts in education, including research, program ideas, and potential grant opportunities. Should you want additional information, try conducting a search in the general Google Search box.