Books

Deserts: The Living Drylands - Oldfield, Sara.

ISBN: 9780262151122

This book presents a survey of the world's deserts, profiles the deserts of each continent, discusses such topics as conservation and tourism, and includes 180 color photos.

Scholastic Book Guides: Desert Giant: The World of the Saguaro Cactus - Scholastic

ISBN: 9780439571364

Contains vocabulary builders, book summaries, discussion questions, graphic organizers, and writing activities to go along with the book, Desert Giant: The World of the Saguaro Cactus.

A Desert Calling: Life in a Forbidding Landscape - Mares, Michael A.

ISBN: 9780674007475

Profiles the large variety of animals and plants which can be found in the deserts of Argentina, Iran, Egypt, and the American Southwest.

Deserts: A Very Short Introduction - Middleton, Nick.

ISBN: 9780199564309

Provides a brief introduction to the world's deserts, describing their climate, wildlife, plants, biodiversity, and history.

Encyclopedia of Deserts - University of Oklahoma Press.

ISBN: 9780806131467

A comprehensive reference to the deserts and semideserts of the world that contains entries that address all aspects of desert life, formation, hydrology, and history.

Deserts and Desert Environments - Laity, Julie.

ISBN: 9781577180333

Provides an overview of deserts and desert environments, discussing the physical, biological, temporal, and human components of drylands.

Looking Closely Across the Desert - Serafini, Frank

ISBN: 9781554532117

Close-up photographs and descriptions challenge readers to guess the identity of the desert plant, animal, or landscape feature it depicts.

Explore the Desert - Jackson, Kay.

ISBN: 9780736864046

Describes the plants, animals, and characteristics of the desert biome.

Who Lives in a Hot, Dry, Desert? - Lynnette, Rachel.

ISBN: 9781448806799

Provides an introduction to deserts, including information on the animals that live in them.

Grasslands and Deserts - Radley, Gail.

ISBN: 978-1575054063

Describes ten endangered species that live in grasslands or deserts, including scientific information about each, reasons for its endangered status, and descriptions of efforts to protect it.

A Walk in the Desert - Johnson, Rebecca L.

ISBN: 81575051529

 Describes the climate, soil, plants, and animals of North American deserts and the ways in which the plants and animals depend on each other and their environment to survive.

At Home in the Desert - Gordon, Sharon

ISBN:  9780761433071

 Text and color photos show what life is like in a desert, covering cacti, canyons, dust devils, and other topics.

Deserts - Riggs, Kate.

ISBN: 9781583418260

This book examines the various plants and animals that make up the common food chains in the world's deserts.

Desert Plants - Welch, Catherine A.

ISBN: 9780736843218

Describes desert plants, how desert plants are used, and why they need to be protected.

 What are Deserts? - Trumbauer, Lisa.

ISBN: 9780736809870

Presents desert features and types; also includes a glossary and a list of books and Web sites on deserts.

 Living in a Desert - Baldwin, Carol.

ISBN: 9781403408402

Describes the characteristics of deserts, looks at the different plants and animals that thrive in deserts, and discusses how the deserts affect people. Includes a map that shows the places where deserts are located.

 A Desert Habitat - MacAulay, Kelley

ISBN: 9780778729501

Provides an introduction to desert habitats, including above and below ground, and looks at some of the plants and animals that live in the Sonoran Desert.

 Desert - Warhol, Tom.

ISBN: 9780761421948

Describes the characteristics of desert biomes, discusses where they are located on the Earth, and looks at the plants and animals found in them.

 Hiding in Deserts - Underwood, Deborah,

ISBN: 81432940218

A look at how animals have adapted to survive in the desert, focusing on how the meerkat, dwarf puff adder, elf owl, and others use camouflage to hide from predators.