Leading Pork Producing States:
The Illustrated Guide to Pigs
by
With a resurgence of interest in raising animals, this delightfully illustrated and informative book is ideal for anyone who wants to choose the most suitable pig breed. The Illustrated Guide to Pigs covers thirty-eight of the most common breeds of pig in North America and Europe. Lewis has included helpful introductory sections with practical advice about pig rearing and husbandry, outlining the difference between the breeds. There are also practical sections on how to buy pigs, the equipment required to keep them, and advice on their basic care, feeding, and hygiene.
Keeping Pigs
by
This charming introductory guide is an essential read for all aspiring pig-keepers. The latest edition in the hugely popular Keeping Series, includes expert guidance on how to feed, house and breed healthy and happy pigs. From introducing the many breeds to sourcing the perfect pig for you, this extensive guide encompasses all aspects of pig keeping and is complimented by magnificent photography. A highly informative and visually appealing handbook suitable for every potential pig-owner from the pig-lover to the smallholder.
The Complete Guide to Raising Pigs
by
Pigs are a very special breed of animal in that they can be almost as much a pet as they are a potential source of meat and income. The proper raising of pigs is much disputed for this reason and there are multiple ways to go about it. To be an effective pig farmer, you must not only understand the various different perspectives on the raising of pigs, but be able to adjust to the breeds you select and the method by which you decide to raise each of them. From how they are fed to how you treat and handle them as babies, pigs are a very special and unique breed of farm animal. This book provides every necessary detail you need to start raising pigs immediately, from selecting the breed of your pigs to how they will be fed. You will learn the difference between pigs that are raised for meat and those that are used for disposal of compost or as pets. You will learn how the process of home butchering and processing is completed and what you can do to start fitting and showing your pigs in competition. You will learn the ins and outs of the pig raising business, including the breeds you will encounter, the expectations of you by other pig farmers, and the details you need to see to when you purchase your first pigs. You will learn how to start breeding your own pigs by creating a breeding herd and selecting the best of your pigs for breeding stock. Dozens of interviews with top pig farmers and experts from around the country have been gathered for this book and provide a detailed look at how the industry is run, including the management of a pig herd, the health care of your pigs, and the daily operations that must be completed in caring for your pigs, including day to day life, feeding the pigs, and their time both indoors and outdoors. If you are interested in the process of breeding and raising pigs, this book will provide every bit of information you need to get started. Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company president's garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed.
Choosing and Keeping Pigs
by
Everything you need to know about small-scale pig keeping, either for food or as a pet. Backyard pig keeping is growing in popularity, both as a food source, as demonstrated by celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay, and as pets. Pigs are easy to rear, breed and feed, and they are hardy and adaptable animals that help clear ground, recycle waste and fertilize soils. This practical and accessible guide is the ideal beginner's handbook and includes expert advice on: How to choose and purchase a quality animal and how to help preserve rare breeds Equipment, housing and fencing Moving and handling Feeding, nutrition and pasture Pig health care and common diseases Selecting a boar or sow for breeding, hogging, farrowing, taking care of piglets and pedigree breeding Preparing for slaughter, butchering and subsequent storage Showing pigs in competitions. Choosing and Keeping Pigs also includes a history of pig keeping and a comprehensive directory of 30 traditional and rare breeds. This unique reference provides all the information a pig keeper requires.