UWSSLEC LibGuides: Careers: Career Information

LMC Reference Books

America's Top Military Careers
Call Number: R 331.7 AME
Explore a variety of military occupational, training, and career information in this book. There are descriptions of 140 enlisted and officer occupations, including information on work performed; physical demands; special requirements; training provided; and work environment.
Career Discovery Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 331.7 CAR
This set is the ideal starting point for learning about different careers.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Call Number: R 331.7 ENC
Includes over 700 career articles which include overview, history, the job, requirements, exploring, employers, starting out, advancement, earnings, work environment, and future outlook. The articles also list over 2500 websites for more information.
Enhanced Occupational Outlook Handbook
Call Number: R 331.7 ENH
This resource includes the complete text of the latest "Occupational Outlook Handbook," plus related job descriptions from the government's latest O*NET database and from the "Dictionary of Occupational Titles."
Exploring Tech Careers
Call Number: R 331.7 EXP
Well over 100 careers are described in entries that average seven or eight pages. Each entry has 11 user-friendly sections including an introduction, an opening sidebar, job requirements, educational requirements, salary ranges, and job outlook.
Exploring Heath Careers
Call Number: R 331.7 EXP
ISBN: 0816064482
More than 100 entries average seven or eight pages and cover the full range of medical specialties requiring an MD, as well as many other health careers. Each entry has 11 user-friendly sections including an introduction, an opening sidebar, job requirements, educational requirements, salary ranges, and job outlook.

WISCareers

Use the link above to complete the career exploration sheets you received in class.

WISCareers Handout

WISCareers Exploration

If you misplaced your handout, here it is.

Career Website Links

Project Documents

These are all the handouts you were given in class. If you've misplaced something, print what you need.

Career Project Explanation
Overview of everything you need to do and turn in for your project
Job Description
Table with job description information from all three sources
Education
Table with education information on your career from all three sources
Hours, Conditions, & Pay
Table with information about the hours, work conditions, & pay for your career
Advantages/Disadvantages
Lists of the advantages & disadvantages of your chosen career
Related Careers
Three careers that are related to the one you've chosen to research

10 Myths about Careers

1. Choosing a career is simple.

2. A career counselor can tell me what career to pick.

3. I can't make a living from my hobby.

4. I should choose a career from a "Best Careers" list.

5. Making a lot of money will make me happy.

6. Once I choose a career, I'm stuck with it forever.

7. If I change careers, my skills will go to waste.

8. If my best friend or a family member is happy in a field, I will be.

9. Once I choose a career, everything will fall into place.

10. I can't really learn about a career without doing it.

Source: Ten Myths About Choosing a Career by Dawn Rosenberg McKay http://careerplanning.about.com/

Created by...

Vickie Horman

Contact:

vickiehorman@tomah.k12.wi.us