Grades K-2

Children's Press, 2005
31 pages
Reading Level: 2.2
Television Personalities, Women Biography, Actors & Actresses, African American Biography

Provides a brief explanation of Oprah's biography, describing her childhood poverty and the path to fame.

Children's Press, 2005
31 pages
Reading Level: 2.3
Producers and Directors
Rookie Biographies Series

Introduces Steven Spielberg as the movie director responsible for "Jaws", "E.T", and "Jurrassic Park". An index and photographic "Words You Know" section are included.

Children's Press, 2005
31 pages
Reading Level: 2.7
Presidents

Provides a brief, photographic biography of Ronald Reagan. Includes his early years, life as an actor, and his presidential accomplishments. Also includes life after his presidency. Includes Words You Know, Index, About the Author sections..

Candlewick Press, 2010
48 pages
Reading Level: 2.8
Baseball Players, Poetry, Free Verse

A biography that chronicles Henry Aaron's childhood dream of becoming a major league baseball player, Henry Aaron's Dream is uniquely told in free verse.

Children's Press, 2007
31 pages
Reading Level: 2.9
Rookie Biographies Series
Montgomery (Ala.) Race relations Juvenile literature.
Montgomery, Alabama, Rosa Parks, Civil Rights Workers, African Americans

Rosa Parks was an important activist in the Civil Rights movement. Her biography provides a brief introduction to her actions that led to desegregation laws on Montgomery, Alabama buses.

Dial Books for Young Readers, 2010
Illustrator: M. Sarah Klise
32 pages
Reading Level: 2.9
Ella Kate Ewing, Autobiography, Giants, Disabilities

Ella Kate was eight feet, four inches tall by the age of seventeen, and she wore size 24 shoes! Due to her size, she traveled the country for nearly twenty years appearing at museums, exhibitions, and in circus shows. People paid money to stare at her in awe. With the money she saved, she provided her parents with a fabulous surprise!

Children's Press, 2003
31 pages
Reading Level: Unlisted (approx. 2.3)
Mayors
Rookie Biographies Series

Known to some as "The Mayor of America", Rudolph Giuliani served as the mayor of New York City. His goal was to decrease the crime rate. He hired additional police officers and made tougher laws. An index and photographic "Words You Know" sections are included.

Children's Press, 2003
31 pages
Reading Level: 2.4
Missionaries of Charity, Missionaries, Nobel Prizes
Rookie Biographies Series

Mother Teresa was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for her dedication to charity work. She was dedicated to helping the poor in India. An Index and photographic "Words You Know" section are included.

Children's Press, 2003
31 pages
Reading Level: 2.6
United States Army Biography, Generals, Cabinet Officers, African American Biography

Provides a brief chronology of Colin Powell's life from youth in Harlem to to becoming the first African American Cabinet Officer. Includes Words You Know, Index, & About the Author sections.