Grades 6-9

August House Little Folk, 2006
Illustrator: Daniel San Souci
69 pages
Reading Level: 6.2

"Trickster tales from the American South, featuring such female animal characters as Molly Cottontail and Miz Goose." (Titlewave)

Clarion, 2006
Illustrator: Shirley Felts
111 pages
Reading Level: 7.1

A collection of tales from China's history

KidHaven Press, 2008
48 pages
Reading Level: 7.4
Greek Mythology, Monsters

"Presents information on minotaurs, or half-man, half-bull creatures from Greek mythology, covering the tales of King Minos and Theseus, its appearance in Picasso's paintings as well as in popular culture and sculpture, and as the name of a rocket for launching satellites into space. Includes bibliographical references and an index." (Titlewave)

Silkworm Books, 2005
113 pages
Reading Level: unlabeled. Interest Level: Adult

"A collection of classic folktales from Lao that reflect the country's beliefs, traditions, culture, and history." (Titlewave)

Libraries Unlimited, 2008
302 pages
Reading Level: Young Adult
Folklore China.
Minorities, China Folklore, China Social Life and Customs

"Presents over fifty representative folktales, including stories about animals, morality, love, magic, creation, and ethnic origins from China's minorities, such as Tibetans, Mongol, Manchu, Zhuang, and Dai, with information on each ethnic group's culture, food, games, crafts, and more. Includes bibliographical references (p. 283-289) and index." (Titlewave)

Globe Pequot Press, 2008
202 pages
Reading Level: unlabeled
Wisconsin Folklore, Haunted Places

"Contains retellings of twenty-five stories of hauntings and other strange occurrences in Milwaukee, Madison, Green Bay, and other towns throughout Wisconsin. Includes bibliographical references (p. 198-202)" (Titlewave)