Grades 3-5

Candlewick Press, 2009
34 pages
Reading Level: 3.0
Fairies Fiction.
Animals, Birds, Marriage, Fairies

When a toad steals Thumbelina and floats her down the river so she can marry Toadikin, the fish help free her. She sets off on an adventure led by a butterfly, but soon things take a turn for the worse. Eventually, as she experiences additional adventures, Thumbelina eventually saves a frozen swallow who returns the favor in the end.

Scholastic Press, 2010
48 pages
Reading Level: 3.0
Zeus, Greek Deity

As Young Zeus questions the whereabouts of children with which to play, he learns the truth about his siblings. Eventually, Zeus gets to play with some siblings, while he also overtakes the Titans. This is the story of how Young Zeus came to be the God of lightning and thunder as well as the ruler of all!

Illustrator: David Shaw
Picture Window Books, 2011
Reading Level: 3.4
Fairy tale, folk tale, German Folk tale

When the tailor boasts about killing seven in one blow, the king's men misunderstand exactly who or what he killed, and he enlists the tailor to carry out seemingly impossible tasks for the king. In return for his bravery, he is promised the princess's hand in marriage. Readers may question the tailor's brevity.

Walker, 2005
Illustrator: Carol Heyer
32 pages
Reading Level: 3.6
Fairy Tales, Princesses, Motorcyclists, Giants, Humor, Graphic Fairy Tale

A girl and a boy cooperatively write a fairy tale for a class project. When the princess' horses get stolen, the boy creates the motorcycle dude, who saves the final horse. This harmless contrast between male/female gender differences will surely bring smiles and laughter to readers.

Millbrook Press, 2007
44 pages
Reading Level: 3.7
Folklore, Tall Tales

Raised by a pack of coyotes in the Wild West, Pecos Bill had a heart of gold. He befriended a gang of outlaws, had a dynamite-eating horse, and learned to ride a mountain lion and lasso a tornado. He met his match, however, when he met a girl named Sue!

Disney Press, 2009
Illustrator: Mary Blair
53 pages
Reading Level: 3.8

"A retelling of Disney's "Peter Pan," following the adventures of Peter Pan and the Darling children after they fly to Never Land and battle with Captain Hook, with illustrations by Mary Blair, who provided the inspiration for the look of the animated film." (Titlewave)

Millbrook Press, 2007
Illustrator: Jeni Reeves
48 pages
Reading Level: 4.0
Folklore, Tall Tales

DK Readers, 2008
48 pages
Reading Level: 4.2

Presents an introduction to Greek Mythology. This book defines mythology, introduces readers to the Greek Gods, and includes 7 classic myths: Pandora's Jar, Labor of Heracles, Theseus and the Minotaur, The Fall of Icarus, The Adventures of Perseus, The Foolishness of Midas, and Orpheus and Eurydice.

Graphic Universe, 2008
Illustrator: Thomas Yeates
48 pages
Reading Level: 4.6
Greek Myths and Legends, Graphic Myths

?A graphic novel adaptation of the Greek myth of Perseus, a young man who braves many perils to cut off the head of Medusa and return it to King Polydectes who in exchange, vowed to leave Perseus' mother alone." Includes An Unexpected Visit, The Cruelty of Two Kings, The Hunt for Medusa's Head, Andromeda and the Kraken, The Wedding of Perseus and Andromeda, and The Fate of Four Kings.

Barefoot Books, 2006
Illustrator: Christina Balit
100 pages
Reading Level: 4.9
Greek Mythology

"An illustrated adaptation of Homer's classic tale of Odysseus and his adventures after the long Trojan War. Includes The stranger, The Cyclops, The Sack of Winds, Circe, The Land of the Dead, The Song of the Spheres, Torment and Trial, Shipwrecked, Ithaca, Father and Son, The Beggar, Setting the Trap, Springing the Trap, and The Olive Tree. Includes bibliographical references and Prologue." (Titlewave)

Frances Lincoln Children's Books, 2008
Illustrator: Francis Firebrace
61 pages
Reading Level: 5.0
Aboriginal Australians, Legends, Mythology, Porquoi

Includes ten Australian Aboriginal stories, including "The Rainbow Serpent and the Story of Creation", "How the Kangaroo Got Her Pouch", "Why Frogs Can Only Croak", "Why Brolgas Dance", "Why the Platypus is Such a Special Creature", "The Mountain Rose", "The Two Moths and the Flowers of the Mountain", "How the Crocodile Got its Scales", "The Lizard-Man and the Creation of Uluru", and "The Butterflies and the Mystery of Death". After each story, factual information regarding the topic is presented. A Glossary, information about the Aboriginal people, and pictures and labels of Aboriginal symbols and their meaning are also included.

M.K. McElderry Books, 2008
Illustrator: Pep Montserrat
96 pages
Reading Level: 5.2

"Contains illustrated retellings of twelve classic Greek myths, including the stories of Pandora, Icarus, King Midas, Persephone and Hades, Echo and Narcissus, Arachne, Pygmalion and Galatea, King Midas and the Golden Touch, Orpheus and Eurydice, Jason and the Golden Fleece, Daedalus and Icarus, Theseus and the Minotaur, and Perseus and Medusa.

Viking, 2008
Illustrator: E.M. Gist
162 pages
Reading Level: 5.3
Folklore, Horror Stories

"A collection of scary stories collected from civilizations around the globe and throughout history. Includes bibliographical references (p. 158-162)." (Titlewave)

Abdo Pub., 2005
Illustrator: Don Vanderbeek
33 pages
Reading Level: 5.5
Tall Tales

"Recounts some of the astounding adventures of the legendary New England sea captain who could tie an octopus in knots." (Titlewave)

A.A. Levine, 2005
Illustrator: Mark Weber
88 pages
Reading Level: 5.9
Jews Folklore, Fairy Tales

Presents a collection of 7 Jewish folk tales, including The Pirate Princess, The Fixer, The Gem Prince, The Treasure, The Merchant and the Poor Man, The Turkey Prince, and The Lost Princess

Shepard Publications, 2007
54 pages
Reading Level: unlabeled. Interest Level: 3-6

"A recounting of two suitors' competition to woo a devious maiden and their subsequent flight with the magical gifts they had proffered. This edition fills a gap as there is little else drawn from the Kalevala available for children." (Titlewave)

Dial Books for Young Readers, 1994
Illustrator: Susan L. Roth
32 pages
Reading Level: 3.5
Creek Indians Legends, Indians of North America Legends, Animals Folklore

Kirkus Review (1994)
How the bat found its niche in the animal kingdom and why birds fly south in winter are explained in this Muskogee tale, one of a dozen similar stories on the topic found in Native American lore. In this version, a disagreement has arisen between the birds and the animals. They take to the stickball field (stickball here is a Native American game similar to lacrosse) to resolve the affair.
Explains the reason for bird migration.

Putnam & Grosset, 1996
Illustrator: Jan Brett
32 pages
Reading Level: 4.6
Bears Folklore

Jan Brett's humorous, detailed illustrations complement this traditional tale.

Puffin Books, 1995
Puffin Books, 1995
Illustrator: Leo & Diane Dillon
40 pages
Reading Level: 5.3
Fairy Tales, Japan, Ducks

A tale of compassion and determination, this story will interest readers who have compassion for animals and realize animals' desires to live in the natural wild.

G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1992
Illustrator: David Shannon
32 pages
Reading Level: 5.5
Algonquin Indians Folklore, Indians of North America

Algonquin version of Cinderella. The rough-face girl and two sisters compete for affection. Dark, earth-tone illustrations parallel the mood set forth by the drama. "There are many versions of the Cinderella story, but none is more eloquent or affecting -- or more strikingly illustrated."
Parent's Magazine

Harcourt, 1996
Illustrator: Thomas Locker
32 pages
Reading Level: 4.8
Indians of North America Folklore

Ten Native American legends evoke the sacred places within all people and teaches readers to respect all things, both living and nonliving.