Battle of Trafalgar: Introduction

Resources for the topic

October 21 1805

View the following YouTube video for an introduction to the Battle Of Trafalgar.

Books

Using this Research Guide

This guide provides links and resources on the Battle of Trafalgar and relating information organized by topic. This guide serves as a research tool to help you conduct your research on the time period of 1800-1805. Please click on the tabs across the top of this page to guide you through this great sea battle. Watch the videos, use the interactive sites, read the articles and see what books are available on this topic.

As a student of history, you can discover the rich tapestry of our past. But what if the past had happened differently? Admiral Nelson's victory at Trafalgar was significant in European history, forcing Napoleon Bonaparte to redirect his strategy. However, what if Nelson lost? Could his opponent Pierre-Charles Villeneuve have defeated him? How would history have changed with a turn in events? Enter here and discover the exciting history of the Age of Nelson. 


How Much Do You Know About The Battle Of Trafalgar?

Click on the following link to take a short quiz. This will determine how much you know about the Battle of Trafalgar and how much research you need to complete

The Battlelines

National Geographic, 2005

The Battlelines

Disclaimer

Every effort has been made to maintain the integrity of this libguide and attribution given. If you are the owner of any information, images, videos etc. and wish to have the content removed, please contact the authors.

Tina Arnold

Angela Bjork

Jason Glampe

Loretta Veers

We hope that this libguide serves as a venue to connect the multiple and fascinating materials that have been gathered and created about The Battle of Trafalgar.

Badgerlink Resources

(n.d). NAPOLEONIC WARS. Retrieved from Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database.

Adkins, R. (2005). Trafalgar: A SIGNAL VICTORY. Geographical (Campion Interactive Publishing), 77(10), 56. Retrieved from Science Reference Center database.

National Geographic; Oct2005, Vol. 208 Issue 4, p54-69, 16p, 9 Color Photographs, 1 Black and White Photograph, 1 Diagram, 2 Maps

Poremba, D. (2005). The Trafalgar Companion: A Guide to History's Most Famous Sea Battle and the Life of Admiral Lord Nelson. Library Journal, 130(13), 101-102. Retrieved from Professional Development Collection database.

Lacey, J. (2007). from the Battle of Trafalgar. Military History, 24(6), 18. Retrieved from Military & Government Collection database

What's your opinion?

Does man make history or does history make the man?

Do people truly make history or do people who find themselves in certain circumstances rise to historical notoriety? So, did Nelson make history, or did the time in which he found himself make him? If he had been born 100 years earlier or later , would he still have been famous?

What's your opinion?
Yes, men make history.: 1 votes (100%)
No, historical circumstance make the man.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1