What is a Exhibit?
An exhibit is a visual representation of your research and interpretation of your topic's significance in history. Your exhibit will look a lot like a small version of an exhibit you might see in a museum. You may have already made something similar to an exhibit if you have ever created a poster to display your research.
Creating an exhibit gives you the opportunity to use a variety of visual materials to make your argument. In addition to text, you can use things like timelines, maps, graphs, charts, photographs, paintings, or artifacts. You can also incorporate primary sources into your exhibit – including quotations, letters, newspaper articles, and more. Using these visual elements will help you create a rich and informative exhibit.
Exhibit Requirements
• Exhibit is no larger than 40 inches wide, 30 inches deep, and 6 feet high when displayed.
• 4 copies (plus one for you) of written materials are prepared. These include title page with required information, and 500-word description of the research methods used (a judging team may retain one copy for review).
• Annotated bibliography is separated into primary and secondary sources.
• Exhibit addresses the theme.
• Title is clear and visible.
• Labels, captions, and titles include no more than 500 words.
• Exhibit has visual impact and shows interpretation.
• Entry is registered by deadline.
• You are prepared to answer judges’ questions at the contest (remember that formal narratives are not appropriate responses to questions).
What is a Performance?
The History Day performance category allows you to create a play that conveys a historical argument with dramatic appeal. Innovative performances have made this category the highlight of many History Day events.
In creating a performance, it’s important to remember that entries in this category are not oral reports about a topic. You will create a script, with characters, lines and costumes in order to convey your argument to the audience. Use your imagination and have fun!
Performance Requirements
• Performance does not exceed 10 minutes.
• Set-up and take-down of props takes no more than 5 minutes each.
• 4 copies (plus one for you) of written materials are prepared. These include title page with required information, and 500-word description of the research methods used (a judging team may retain one copy for review).
• Annotated bibliography is separated into primary and secondary sources.
• Performance addresses the theme.
• You supply all props and equipment.
• Only you run equipment and are involved in the performance.
• You have prepared extra supplies and materials in case of emergency.
• Entry is registered by deadline.
• You are prepared to answer judges’ questions at the contest (remember that formal narratives are not appropriate responses to questions).
What is a Documentary?
A History Day documentary reflects your ability to use audiovisual equipment to communicate your topic’s significance. Through a documentary you will be able to incorporate still images, moving images, narration, and other types of media into a 10-minute original production.
Documentary Requirements
• Presentation does not exceed 10 minutes.
• Set-up and take-down takes no more than 5 minutes each.
• 4 copies (plus one for you) of written materials are prepared. These include title page with required information, and 500-word description of the research methods used (a judging team may retain one copy for review).
• Annotated bibliography is separated into primary and secondary sources.
• Documentary addresses the theme.
• Your involvement during the presentation is limited to operating equipment and giving name and title.
• Entry is registered by deadline.
• You have prepared extra supplies and materials in case of emergency.
• You are prepared to answer judges’ questions at the contest (remember that formal narratives are not appropriate responses to questions).
What is a Historical Paper?
A paper is the traditional form of presenting historical research. A History Day paper is not simply a biography or a book report. It is a grammatically correct and well-written historical argument. Various types of creative writing (for example, fictional diaries, poems, etc.) are permitted, but must conform to all general and category rules.
Historical Paper Requirements
• Paper is 1,500–2,500 words, excluding notes, annotated bibliography, and title page.
• Title page contains only the required information.
• Annotated bibliography is separated into primary and secondary sources.
• Paper addresses the theme.
• Citations are provided within the paper.
• 4 copies (plus one for you) are prepared and submitted.
• Entry is registered by deadline.
• You are prepared to answer judges’ questions at the contest (remember that formal narratives are not appropriate responses to questions).
What is a Website?
A History Day web site is a computer-based representation of your research and argument that incorporates both textual and non-textual content (e.g. images, songs, interviews, videos, and other media) to engage and inform your viewer about your topic. A web site is more than just an electronic paper or an exhibit on a computer. Through a web site you are able to incorporate non- textual elements with which a viewer can interact. These elements help to differentiate web sites from other categories.
The web site category is the newest National History Day category, first appearing at the national contest in 2008.
Website Requirements
• Web site contains no more than 1,200 visible, student-composed words.
• Home page includes names of participants, entry title, division, and the main menu.
• All pages are interconnected with hypertext links.
• Web site uses no more than 100MB of file space.
• The content is stable and does not change when the refresh button is hit.
• Annotated bibliography is separated into primary and secondary resources.
• Web site addresses the theme.
• Required written materials are an integrated part of the web site.
• Entry is registered and submitted by deadline.
• You are prepared to answer judges’ questions at the contest (remember that formal narratives are not appropriate responses to questions).