Books

Netiquette, Online Safety & Cyberbullying

Netiquette: A Student's Guide to Digital Etiquette, by Kathy Furgang

New York: Rosen Central, 2011
ISBN: 9781435894297
Interest Level: 5-8
Reading Level: 7.9

"While digital and computer technology have advanced by leaps and bounds in the past twenty years, allowing individuals to conduct a wide array of personal, educational, and professional activities on personal computers and hand-held devices, The social rules for computer and Internet use have not yet caught up To The technology. Issues of basic civility and digital etiquette, or "netiquette," increasingly arise, with no clear guidelines in place to help people police their own behavior when online and monitor the activities of others in the "digital community." This book provides solid guidelines for young computer users to follow to help them avoid giving or receiving offense and even more serious forms of online trouble. Covering everything from the proper use of library computer terminals and wi-fi cafes to digital plagiarism, this book instructs readers in how to promote civil online behavior, alert the appropriate authorities to inappropriate or harassing behavior, and create a safe, welcoming, and polite cyber-community." - Borders.com

Netiquette: Internet Etiquette in the Age of the Blog , by Matthew Strawbridge

Cambridge, UK: Software Reference, 2006
ISBN: 9780955461408
Interest Level: N/A (For Adult Reading)

Reading Level: N/A

"This up-to-date book covers all aspects of Internet etiquette, including email, discussion forums, online auctions, instant messaging and much more. It explains modern topics such as blogs and wikis, and how netiquette applies to them. Although this book is suitable for beginners, even experts should find plenty to make them think. At once prescriptive and pragmatic, this book tells you in plain language how everyone would behave in a perfect world, giving you the knowledge to enable you to decide how you wish to present yourself online." - Amazon.com

NETiquette (On-Line Etiquette) Tips for Adults & Teens: Facebook, MySpace, Twitter! Terminology... and more, by Michelle Cimino

Baltimore: PublishAmerica, 2009
ISBN: 9781615823178
Interest Level: N/A
 
Reading Level: N/A

Do you have a Facebook baby, a MySpace Angle, or Followers? You just might! NETiquette (a.k.a On-Line Etiquette) provides the much needed DOs and DON’Ts for users of the popular social sites like Facebook, MySpace and Twitter. Everyone should be aware of lurking, following, blocking, tweeting and other things a person could do without even knowing it! This book includes important safety measures and tips; friends and photos etiquette; and an easy to use dictionary/terminology guide that no “addict” should be without.

Super Smart Information Strategies. Online Etiquette and Safety, by Phyllis Cornwall

Baltimore: Cherry Lake Publishing, 2011
ISBN: 9781602799615
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: 5.3

"Proper manners are as important online as they are offline. Combining text, images, drawings with hands on activities, this book helps students learn proper online etiquette and safety." - Cherry Lake Publishing

Cyber Ethics (Cyber Citizenship and Cyber Safety), by Diane Bailey

New York: Rosen Central, 2008
ISBN: 9781404213494
Interest Level: 5-8

Reading Level: 6.2

"“If you wouldn’t do it face to face, don’t do it on the computer.” Along with offering this and other pithy guidelines for responsible Internet behavior, Bailey’s entry in the Cyber Citizenship and Cyber Safety series discusses privacy issues and plagiarism, sounds generalized cautionary notes about cyberbullying and about sharing personal information, and repeatedly discourages downloading music without paying for it. Online predators are covered in a separate book in the series but are mentioned here, too, although the discussion of grooming is too vague to be very effective. The book’s small color photos frequently seem like filler, but several images of Web pages and sidebars provide helpful additional information, as do the concluding multimedia resource lists. Readers will come away at least more conscious of the ramifications of some kinds of Internet use, if not moved to take all of Bailey’s earnest warnings to heart." - John Peters

Cyber-Safe Kids, Cyber-Savvy Teens: Helping Young People Learn to Use the Internet Safely and Responsibly, by Nancy E. Willard

Jossey-Bass, 2007
ISBN: 9780787994174
Interest Level: AD (For Adult Reading)

Reading Level: N/A

"Parents protect younger children by keeping them in safe places, teaching them simple safety rules, and paying close attention. As children grow, we help them gain the knowledge, skills, and values to make good choices--choices that will keep them safe and show respect for the rights of others. In Cyber-Safe Kids, Cyber-Savvy Teens, Willard shows you how those same strategies can be translated from the real world to the cyberworld, and that you don't have to learn advanced computer skills to put them into effect. As you work on these strategies with your child, you will also discover that remaining engaged with what your children are doing online is much more valuable than any blocking software you could buy." - Amazon.com

The Official Book of Electronic Etiquette , by Charles Winters, Anne Winters, Elizabeth Anne Winters, Charles Winters II 

Skyhorse Publishing, 2010
ISBN: 9781616081027
Interest Level: AD (For Adult Reading)

Reading Level: N/A

"Whether you are sending an email, twittering, or just wondering if it’s appropriate to answer your phone, here are the answers to all your communication questions. Covering phones, the Internet, television, and much, much more, this accessible and lively handbook provides up-to-date information on all your modern electronic needs. Written by the founders of the National League of Junior Cotillions, this book provides the reader with access to information sought after by hundreds of people. With an easy question and answer format and a full, comprehensive index, The Official Book of Electronic Etiquette is a necessity for everyone who wants to know right from wrong in the electronic age."- Amazon.com

Faux Paw's Adventure in the Internet: Keeping Children Safe Online, by Jacalyn Leavitt, Sally Linford

Wiley, John & Sons Incorportated, 2006
ISBN: 9780470051375
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: N/A

"The Internet is like a big city with great places to go, but you have to be careful! I know. I had a REAL adventure on the Internet, and it wasn't the fun kind. When I tell you what almost happened, you'll see why it's so important to follow the rules for online safety!"

Faux Paw Meets the First Lady: How to Handle Cyber-Bullying, by Jacalyn Leavitt, Sally Linford

Wiley, John & Sons Incorportated, 2006
ISBN: 9780470051382
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: N/A

"Going to Washington to meet the First Lady was REALLY exciting! In fact, I got so excited that I almost made another big mistake on the Internet. Okay, I DID make a mistake.If it hadn't been for the First Lady, well, I could have been in big, BIG trouble."

Living with the Internet and Online Dang  ers (Teen's Guide), by Corey Sandler

Checkmark Books, 2010
ISBN: 9780816078752
Interest Level: YA

Reading Level: N/A

"Living with the Internet and Online Dangers highlights the risks and problems that come with modern Web technology, as well as what teens can do to protect themselves. Chapters explore online job hunting, email scams and Internet fraud, finding that special someone online, and wireless security. Written in straightforward language, this new resource is loaded with helpful sidebars, a glossary, index, and appendixes." - Amazon.com

A Smart Girls' Guide to the Internet: How to Connect with Friends, Find What You Need and Stay Safe Online, by Sharon Cindrich, Ali Douglass

American Girl Publishing Inc., 2009
ISBN: 9781593695996
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: 6.1

"Packed with tips, quizzes, and "What would you do?" scenarios, this book can help girls be smart--and safe--Internet users. Parents can find great advice for teaching girls what to do (and what not to do) on the Web: from e-mail and instant messaging to blogs and social networks. Includes journal pages for recording favorite Web sites." - Amazon.com

How to Protect Your Children on the Internet: A Road Map for Parents and Teachers, by Gregory S. Smith

Praeger, 2007
ISBN: 9780275994723
Interest Level: AD (For Adult Reading)

Reading Level: N/A

"Smith outlines methods for protecting children against online threats. He describes recent tragedies and shows how to protect against specific dangers, for parents or educators of children from age eight to 17. He specifically discusses how to monitor children online, with recommendations for surfing, blogs, and social networking; email; instant messaging and voice-over-IP, cell phones, and PDAs; and talking to children about risks. Information has been drawn from research reports, case studies, child advocacy organizations and web sites, interviews with experts and parents, and the author's own experiences as a parent, technology professional, and educator." - Reference & Research Book News

A Young Adult's Guide to Safety in the Digital Age, by Jeff Sechler

CreateSpace, 2010
ISBN: 9781453618417
Interest Level: YA

Reading Level: N/A

"The Internet is a great place to work and play.  Unfortunately, it is also a place where criminals will try to take advantage of unsuspecting users.  Author Jeff Sechler provides a detailed guide for young people (14 to 22) about the risks of participating in the digital world that surrounds us. Each topic is covered thoroughly, in plain easy-to-understand language. Topics covered in the book include Sexual and Online Predators, Cyber-bullying and Cyber-harassment, Cell Phone Texting and Sexting, Internet Addictions, Identity Theft, Online Scams, Viruses and Spyware, College admissions, Job hunting and Online Reputation,  as well as how the Internet plays a role in Copyright and Plagiarism" - Amazon.com

Online Gaming and Entertainment: Issues in the Digital Age, by Hal Marcovitz

ReferencePoint Press, 2011
ISBN: 9781601521910
Interest Level: YA

Reading Level: N/A

"Both kids and adults have found new ways of relaxing, playing, having fun and while these are amazing new technologies and can actually be great fun, etc they also spark concerns: getting caught up in fantasy worlds of online video gaming; addiction; violence; inactivity contributing to obesity especially among kids; concerns about gambling; concerns about easy access to porn and child porn; what efforts are being made to address these issues and what are the ramifications." - BetterWorldBooks.com

Mean Behind the Screen: What you Need to Know about Cyberbullying, by Toney Allman

Compass Point Books, 2009
ISBN: 9780756541453
Interest Level: 5-8

Reading Level: 5.6

"After citing survey reports that nearly 40 percent of female respondents have experienced online harassment and 17 percent of all respondents admit to dishing it out, the author of this entry in the What’s the Issue? series addresses readers directly to explain how hurtful and risky cyberbullying can be to both sender and receiver. The page design is drab and the photos nothing but filler, but the text is presented in easily digestible blocks, and the back matter includes a checklist, hotlines, and both fiction and nonfiction reading lists. Laced with specific instances that ended in suicides, arrests, and other ugly consequences, Allman’s admonitions may get some readers to pay attention." - John Peters

A Smary Kid's Guide to Online Bullying, by David J. Jakubiak

PowerKids Presss, 2009
ISBN: 9781435833487
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: 6.3

"These books tell readers how to protect themselves while having fun online. They all recommend seeking aid from an adult. A captioned, color photo of people using computers flanks each page of text, and back matter includes a list of safety tips. The first title gives ways to prevent harassment and to stop cyberbullying once it has begun, which involves keeping evidence and ignoring nasty messages. One of the tips is: "Print mean messages to show an adult. Then block the sender, and delete the message."" - School Library Journal

Internet Safety Kids' Guide, by Victoria Roddel

Lulu.com, 2007
ISBN: 9781411666986
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: N/A

"A basic explanation of internet safety and cybercrime for middle school students. Topics include: Computer Infectors, Computer Security, Fraud, Hoaxes, Lies, Manners, Online Safety, Parents and Adults, Piracy, Privacy, Respect and the Law, Strangers, Secrets, Spam, and Usernames and Passwords." - Amazon.com

Internet Safety (Hot Topics), by Nick Hunter

Heinemann-Raintree, 2011
ISBN: 9781432948719
Interest Level: 5-8

Reading Level: N/A

"Accessible yet sophisticated book that covers the risks involved in going on line and what you can do to protect yourself. Also asks whether more regulations on internet use are a good idea" - Amazon.com

A Smary Kid's Guide to Internet Privacy, by David J. Jakubiak

PowerKids Presss, 2009
ISBN: 9781435833562
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: 6.3

"These books tell readers how to protect themselves while having fun online. They all recommend seeking aid from an adult. A captioned, color photo of people using computers flanks each page of text, and back matter includes a list of safety tips. The first title gives ways to prevent harassment and to stop cyberbullying once it has begun, which involves keeping evidence and ignoring nasty messages. One of the tips is: "Print mean messages to show an adult. Then block the sender, and delete the message." In the second book, Jakubiak discusses the positive attributes of online games, but reminds kids to be safe and to seek help from an adult if a game requires registration. Because online gaming can become addictive, the author reminds readers to engage in other activities as well. In Social Networking, he discusses sites like WebKinz and Facebook and tells readers, "Most networking sites have age limits…. Never try to pretend to be older than you really are online." Clear, concise language enables students to concentrate on the contents of these useful titles." - School Library Journal

A Smary Kid's Guide to Social Networking, by David J. Jakubiak

PowerKids Presss, 2009
ISBN: 9781435833586
Interest Level: 3-6

Reading Level: 6.3

"These books tell readers how to protect themselves while having fun online. They all recommend seeking aid from an adult. A captioned, color photo of people using computers flanks each page of text, and back matter includes a list of safety tips. The first title gives ways to prevent harassment and to stop cyberbullying once it has begun, which involves keeping evidence and ignoring nasty messages. One of the tips is: "Print mean messages to show an adult. Then block the sender, and delete the message." In the second book, Jakubiak discusses the positive attributes of online games, but reminds kids to be safe and to seek help from an adult if a game requires registration. Because online gaming can become addictive, the author reminds readers to engage in other activities as well. In Social Networking, he discusses sites like WebKinz and Facebook and tells readers, "Most networking sites have age limits…. Never try to pretend to be older than you really are online." Clear, concise language enables students to concentrate on the contents of these useful titles." - School Library Journal