Modern Fantasy 6-9

Modern Fantasy



Stories that qualify as modern fantasy contain plot elements or characters that could not happen in real life. These elements could include supernatural encounters, mystical or magical creatures, or other extraordinary features such as talking animals, superpowers, and time travel. This is a great genre for science fiction fans!


The Hunger Games


The Hunger Games

By: Suzanne Collins



Reviewer: Mike Slowinski

Grade Level: 8

Reading Level: 5.3

The first book in a thrilling post-apoloclypitc, controlled societies fantasy trilogy, The Hunger Games takes place in a society that keeps its constituents in line by hosting an annual death match between children within its 12 districts. Each year, children between the ages of 12 and 18 must submit their names into a random drawing, and two kids from each district are chosen to participate in the Hunger Games. Katniss, a strong-minded 18-year-old, is horrified when her 12-year-old younger sister is chosen, and she decides to sacrifice herself by volunteering for the Hunger Games in her sister's place. The story follows Katniss as she struggles to survive in this intense, nationally-televised blood brawl. This novel will keep readers turning the pages in order to find out what happens next. The story becomes a bit predictable at times, but nonetheless, is a very intriguing first book to the trilogy. 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Percey Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

By: Rick Riordan



Reviewer: Brandon Berrey

Grade Level: 5-8

Reading Level: 4.9

Percy Jackson has never really fit into the school scene.  He has been kicked out of many schools, has A.D.D. and simply can't stay out of trouble. He just doesn't fit in.  That is until a museum field trip results in him cutting through a flying demon with what was a pen his teacher gave to him.  Immediately his mother whisks him away to summer camp.  This is no ordinary summer camp though, it is a camp for the sons and daughters of the gods.  Before they arrive however the Minotaur attacks them ans kills his mother.  At camp things go from bad to worse.  Zeus' lightning bolt has been stolen and he is being blamed.  His quest is now to return the lightning bolt, but along the way he is determined to save his mother from the Underworld.  Will Percy succeed in returning both the lightning bolt to Zeus and in saving his mother?  Only the book can give you those answers.

Ranger's Apprentice



Ranger's Apprentice

By: John Flanagan



Reviewer: Joseph Diefenthaler

Grade Level: 5-8

Reading Level: 6.9

The Ruins of Gorlan is the first book in a long running Ranger's Apprentice Series.  Will has always dreamed of being a warrior, but due to his size, he is unable to go to this school.  Instead, he has been chosen to be Halt's apprentice.  Halt teaches Will how to use different weapons like the long bow, how to throw knives, ride horses and even make himself invisible in his surroundings.  This is important because Will, the ranger in Will's section of the kingdom, is in charge of keeping the piece. Lord Morgarath among other creatures begin to cause trouble in the kingdom.  It is up to Will and Halt to protect the people and save the kingdom.