It would be easy for me to simply present all of the information that I found in regards to various holidays and festivals in Spain. In a scenario like this, you would have all of the information that you need at your fingertips and it would take you no time to finish your research on your assigned topic.
However, to simply hand over all of the information would essentially be doing you a disservice, since you would not learn how to question and seek the information you desire for yourself. That is why the purpose of this libguide is to not simply hand over information, but rather to highlight information relevant to your research task. On each tab you will find links to some of the more interesting information about your holiday or festival. Keep in mind, though, that this is not all of the information available. What is immediately housed here is merely the tip of the iceberg; it is your duty to discover more beneath the surface.
With that being said, the "Home" tab for this libguide will provide you with questioning and searching strategies to help you find the information you need. It will be up to you to use these tips to go beyond what is already presented and find other interesting materials. The "Home" tab also features some key places to look for information, including various databases and library catalogs. Finally, each individual tab within this libguide will include a custom Google search engine. This search engine will allow you to search all of the web, but emphasize the sites that I believe will be most useful to you. This way you will be able to explore the vastness of the web with both focus and freedom.
So, I encourage you all to dive in, question, frame searches, hunt down information, and see what you can find. After all, who better to know exactly what you need than you yourself?
Enjoy and happy hunting!!
The first step in the research process is the need for a research question. When developing this question, consider what you want to know and question what it is you are seeking.
For example, if your topic is San Fermin, what do you want to know about it? Maybe it's the history of the festival. In that case, your research question might be: What is the history of Spain's San Fermin festival?
Step two in framing a search is identifying the keywords within your research question. This is important because most search engines and database searches rely on and search for only the keywords within your search phrase. Having those keywords already picked out will ensure that you will find the best information as quickly as possible.
For example, if you take the above research question: "What is the history of Spain's San Fermin festival?" your keywords would be "History," Spain," and "San Fermin."
Step three is taking your keywords and developing synonyms for the words to maximize your potential for locating information during your search. This is important because the first keywords you type in might not yield the information you need (or not the best information). Having synonyms for your keywords will promise that you have a few different combinations of words to help you find the best information.
For example, if you take the keywords developed above, "History," "Spain," and "San Fermin," you can probably create a few synonyms that will help you maximize your search potential. In this instance a synonym for "History" might be "Origins." A synonym for "San Fermin" might be "Running of the Bulls."
If you have trouble thinking of synonyms, use Thesaurus.com to help you think of some. This will only help make your search stronger.
Now It's Your Turn:
Use the Google Custom Search Engine on this page to compare a couple of searches and see the variance in the results you receive.
Search 1: "San Fermin"
Search 2: "History San Fermin Spain"
How did the results you encountered in each search differ?
More Searching Tips:
For more searching tips, check out the links below:
The "search strategies" link will give you a more detailed explanation of how to formulate a search and identify its keywords.
This link will explain to you how to use Boolean operators to refine your search to find the most information, exclude terms you may not want in your search, and to narrow your search.
The Google Guide provides a discussion of searching shortcuts and tips that are exclusive to Google's search engine. Check this out to maximize your Google search and to discover new ways of using Google that you may have never even known existed!
To help you locate additional information quickly, here are some strong keyword searches that will help you find information for each of the Spanish festivals housed in this libguide. You may still need to identify and come up with some synonyms of your own to vary the searches and to find more information.
Note: It is important to include "Spain" where listed with keywords because those holidays and or figures can be found in other countries as well, too.
San Fermin Keywords:
Las Fallas Keywords:
La Tomatina Keywords:
La Feria de Sevilla Keywords:
Semana Santa Keywords:
For a quick web reference of the resources used in this libguide (and many more), use the link below to access my Delicious tag bundle for these Spanish Festivals and Holidays.
Did you locate a Spanish website in your research that you need translated? Maybe you just want to make sure that your understanding of a specific word is correct. Either way, these online translators will help you find better understand the websites and words that trouble you.
For instructions on how to use Google Translator, click here.
A library catalog essentially allows you to locate books and reference materials available within a library. So, in essence you are searching the catalog of the library for the information it has immediately available to you. Below are some links to helpful library catalogs.
Cadott's Destiny catalog will allow you to search for books and reference materials available in the Cadott High School Library. If you wish, you may also search across the street in the Elementary School Library.
The MORE System is a consortium of libraries in north western Wisconsin. Using this system allows you to locate and request books found in several libraries in this part of the state. If you have a MORE library card, you can request titles you find here and they will be shipped directly to your library of choice.
The Library of Congress Catalog allows you to search all of the records on file at the Library of Congress in Washington D.C. If you locate useful sources here, you can cross reference them with other catalogs to see if they are available there as well. Pay close attention to subject headings used here as they will often make good keyword searches for the information you are seeking.
WorldCat is a world library database. While you cannot check out a book through WorldCat, it does allow you to search for and verify a book's existence. It will also show you the closest library that holds this title in its collection.
A database archives information from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Much of the information you find in an online database is not freely available on the web and libraries must pay for students to access the information housed there. The strongest database we have available in our school district is Badgerlink. Below is a link to the many databases you can access through it.
Encyclopedia's provide articles and discussions on a variety of topics. One subscription encyclopedia you have immediately available to you is The Encyclopedia Britannica. Another that is growing in popularity is Wikipeida, an online encyclopedia compiled by people across the world. While Wikipedia may not be your first choice for credible information, a study has shown that Wikipedia has just as many errors as several more reputable and published encyclopedias.
In case you come across the need to identify the biographies of specific individuals during your research, Eau Claire's L.E. Phillips Memorial Library offers remote access to Gale's Biography in Context. Using this resource will allow you to search for biographical information on specific individuals.
Search engines allow you to search for information out in the vast ocean of the World Wide Web. Be cautious of what you find searching here, as not all resources in this realm are created equal. Be sure to look for essential information to prove a source's credibility, like authors, dates published, spelling on the site, etc. Below are some of the more popular search engines used by many.
A cluster engine is a search engine that will categorize your search results for you. All you need to do is click on the categories it makes to narrow your search down into more specific and precise topics. One of the best cluster engines out there is Carrot2. Try it out below!
Want to know a little more about Spain and its people? Check out these government issued resources. Here you'll find information about the country's history, its population, it's culture, and other interesting facts.
Note: You may need Google Translator's help with reading some of the information on these pages.